Built in 1830 this business Premises in the heart of Patrick Street Fermoy restored to its former glory.
External & Internal Lime Plastering project. This well known landmark business premises was previously occupied by Dairy Gold Co-op, up until 2009 when they closed their doors for the last time. Unfortunately the building remained closed and fell into disrepair. In 2012 it was bought by Ballyhooly based Gowen Construction , this was hailed as a positive development for the town of Fermoy, bringing life back to this derelict building and creating an opportunity for employment in the town once again.
The building provides an imposing feature on Patrick Street, offering an unusual gable-fronted façade to the streetscape. Its varying but symmetrical openings enhance its tall form, which is articulated by the render pilasters and sill courses. The oculus opening is an unusual feature and is highlighted by its moulded render surround.
During surveying works the historic building’s original pitch pine ceiling was uncovered, a masterpiece in carpentry. A local architect was engaged to redesign the store, dividing it into two retail units and we were very proud to be awarded the contract to be involved in this restoration, our reputation has been built on the quality of our work and the skill and expertise of our craftsmen, this project offered us the opportunity to showcase our skill’s to the full.